Superhero Portraits Made of Mosaics by Jason Dussault


Starting on March 19, Vancouver and New York-based artist Jason Dussault will be showing stunning mosaic works featuring superheroes and other pop culture characters at the Hoerle-Guggenheim Gallery in New York. Using shattered pieces of tile and grout, as well as paint, resin, and vinyl, he makes amazing mosaic portraits of well-known heroes like Superman, Thor, and Hulk as well as the LEGO versions of Batman and Joker. Called Deconstructive/Constructive, this will be his debut solo exhibition in New York.
“Growing up in a small rural Canadian town in the late seventies and early eighties with young parents struggling to find their way, I spent much of my time alone, and the only access to art I had was comic books,” he said. “I would spend hours trying to redraw these characters. Deconstructive/Constructive is my tribute to comic book art, my first love and inspiration.”
A focal point of the exhibition is a large-scale tribute to George Delmerico’s iconic superhero amalgamation, A…

Source: www.mymodernmet.com

See on Scoop.itLe Panda De Cina ✪

Lascia un commento